Full width home advertisement

Welcome Home


Post Page Advertisement [Top]

Google Chrome Incognito Mode Just Has Gotten Even More Secure



Incognito mode can help you keep your browsing private from other people who are users of your device.


How Incognito Mode Works


The first time you open a new Incognito window, you are creating a new Incognito browsing session. Any Incognito windows you open after the first are part of the same session. You can end that Incognito session by just closing all open Incognito windows. 


In Incognito, none of your cookies, browsing history, and site data, or your information entered in web forms and portals are saved on your device. This means that your activity does not show up in your Chrome browser history, so people who are also making use of your device won’t see your activity. The Websites see you as a new user and won’t recognize who you are, as long as you do not sign in.


If you’re browsing in Chrome Incognito mode by default, this technically means you are not signed into any accounts or sites.


What Incognito Mode Does


Browsing in Incognito mode means that your data activity isn’t saved on your device, or to a Google Account you’re not signed into.


For example, you may use Incognito mode to do an online shopping for a birthday gift of a friend or family member who shares your device with you. If you are not signed in to your Google account, your shopping activity will not appear in your Chrome browsing activity and it won’t be saved to your Google Account.


Each time you have to close all Incognito windows, Chrome will discards any site data and cookies associated with that browsing session.


Chrome will not give any websites information, including Google, when you're browsing privately in the Incognito mode.


You can now lock Incognito Tabs in Chrome on iOS with Touch and Face ID


Google is now adding a new privacy feature to Chrome for iOS that will allow the user to lock their Incognito tabs using Touch or Face ID. The feature should be very handy for users that do multitask across multiple apps or when an individual lets someone else quickly use their smartphone.


With the new feature now activated, Chrome users can lock the Incognito tabs so that they appear blurred until the identity of the user is being confirmed using either the iPhone’s in-built fingerprint scanner or the facial recognition software. The feature, which is currently being used to test in the Chrome for iOS beta channel, has added another layer of security for people using iPhone.


Individuals that are Privacy-conscious may have Incognito tabs open even while they continue to use the regular version of the Chrome. Hypothetically, if such an individual is going to offer their phone to a friend for a quick use, it could reveal their Incognito browsing habits. With this new privacy feature now, those concerns should be allayed.


Identity Checks


Similar of this privacy features are also available through the Google Search app, which welcomes biometric safeguards to confirm the identity of a user when they go back to use an Incognito session after more than 15 minutes away.


In addition, The Google Drive, which is one of the world’s most popular cloud storage solutions, has a Privacy Screen that request users to pass a facial recognition or fingerprint check every time they are accessing the app. However, it is very possible to delay this check by up to 10 minutes for users that are frequently switching between many apps.


Google’s new privacy feature is not yet available for all the iPhone users with access to the beta channel. It could receive general rollout more with the launch of Chrome 89 next month, at which point, it will be very accessible by going to the “Settings” and activating the “Lock Incognito tabs.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Bottom Ad [Post Page]