Show Mobile Navigation

Thursday, February 09, 2017

, , ,

How to Block Someone on Twitter

Oyetoke Tobi - Thursday, February 09, 2017

Is someone or anyone bullying or harassing you on Twitter? If there is, do you know you can easily block them forever?

There are some terrible and insane people out there, and social network services like Twitter and so on can bring out the worst and madness in them. Not everyone on Twitter is okay mentally, so you have to put that in mind. The only option for dealing with this kind of people is to block them. So if you are facing any form of harassment, abuse or bullying from a Twitter, here’s how to block that Twitter user.

What will happen when you block someone on Twitter?

When you block someone on Twitter, it automatically unfollow them from your following list likewise it unfollows you from their following. You won’t be able to follow each other again. Their Tweets won’t appear in your Timeline, even if they personally tag you. They won’t be able to view your Tweets if they’re logged in. They won’t be able to send you Direct Messages. They can’t you in a photo. Also, they won’t be able to view your Followers, Following, Likes, or Lists. Lastly, they won’t be able to add you to their Lists.

However, have this in mind these only happen when the Twitter user you want to block is logged in. So in case you have a public account, they will still be able to see your Tweets if they aren’t logged in.

Moreover, when you block a Twitter user, you only block that account not that the person itself. They can easily create another account in order to continue to harass you, but if you are facing such a situation, simply contact the police and Twitter.

How to Block Someone on Twitter

There are two ways you can us to block someone on Twitter. You can either do it from the website or from the Twitter mobile app.


How to Block Someone using the Twitter Website

Open your web browser and head over to Twitter.com

Then log into your account if you aren’t logged in.

Now look for a tweet from the Twitter user you want to block. Then click on the downward facing arrow icon and click on Block @username.

Or head over to the profile of the Twitter user you want to block. Then click on the Gear icon beside the Follow button. Then a dropdown menu will appear. So click on Block @username in the dropdown menu.

How to Block Someone on Twitter using the Twitter App

Although, the phone we are using may be different, however the process is almost identical on all smartphones.


Open the Twitter app on your phone.

Just like before, head over to a Tweet from the user you want to block. Then tap on the downward facing arrow icon and a dropdown menu will appear. Then tap on Block @username in the dropdown menu.

Or just go to the profile of the user you want to block, and tap on the Gear icon (settings icon) beside the Follow button. Then tap on Block @username.

That’s all. From now on, you won’t receive any tweet from the user, and he/she won’t be able to view you tweet, your profile and so on.


0 comments:

Post a Comment